Theme Friday: Grey Rain

We stood together by the bathroom sink while she took my temperature. With the mirrored door of the medicine cabinet ajar, I could see us for miles in the mirror behind us. We grew smaller and smaller but didn’t fade.
When the red line climbed to 101, she took the thermometer from me. The silver tip caught the edge of the sink, shattering the glass, and showering the porcelain in a grey rain of mercury.
I leaned forward to catch a drop, but she caught my hand before I could and said we mustn’t touch it.
We watched as the silver separated and then came back together.
Her eyes turned sad and she led me back to the davenport. She fixed my pillow and covered me up and said I miss your Grandpa.
***
Christine and Annie take on Grey Rain.

15 Responses to “Theme Friday: Grey Rain”

  1. This is wonderful! The grey rain of mercury. I never would’ve come up with something so creative. In fact, I didn’t. But I’m glad you did- you amazing woman. 🙂

  2. Also, I played with mercury a bunch when I was a little girl- without parental knowledge and despite their warnings. I was facsinated by it.

    It explains a lot, don’t you think?

  3. […] be sure to visit Annie and clancyjane. The freshest in culture. Featured on PopPressed Movie Remakes That Would Destroy What […]

  4. Beautiful. A caregiver receiving care is one of the most beautiful things – isn’t it?
    Keep writing woman.
    C

  5. […] Christine’s rainy day and Clancy’s puddles […]

  6. Hey Clancy,
    I have a similar memory – it’s funny how you do that, write about things I remember. The grey rain of mercury was a brilliant touch. Love it.
    Annie

  7. Your writing is Cracker Jacks.
    I wish I’d remember that, then maybe my heart & mind wouldn’t take such a sharp turn. But, no, I think I’d still jump at even the expected. Because of your truly terrific talent.
    FULL OF POWER. SWEET & STRONG. One of a kind brilliance.
    I wonder if Erma knew how big your corner would be! Thank you.

  8. duskydi Says:

    Hi Clancy,

    Thank you for the return of THeme Fridays and for your contribution. Thank you
    Di

  9. just me Says:

    Loved your take on this theme. It is a joy to read your posts. Thanks for writing again.

  10. God, but you’re good.

  11. my favorite line? “I could see us for miles in the mirror behind us. We grew smaller but didn’t fade”
    my favorite writer? you

Leave a comment