Theme Fridays: Tires

Practical:  of or pertaining to practice or action.

Her name was Olive.  She was a 1970 green Chevy Nova, and there were three spare tires in her trunk.

I didn’t want three spares tires in the trunk (where’m I supposed to put all my stuff?), but my Dad insisted.   He said, “What if you had more than one flat?”

He was a big what-if-er.  Each time I left their house, or called to say I was starting out, he would say, “Don’t take any chances.  And remember, anything can happen”, and Mom would add, “Watch out for the crazies, kid.”

They’ve been gone awhile now, but their practical love surrounds me– especially where my tires are concerned.

I changed a tire last week.  The air compressor I used?  A gift from them.  The flashlight?  The tire iron?  You guessed it.  They look after me, even after.

Sometimes, without their practical reminders, I forget that anything can happen.  Less diligent, I am down to one spare tire.

Last spring I was driving to Florida, with that single spare tire, in an SUV with a trunk twice the size of Olive’s.  Would you believe that on the way I had two flat tires?  See?  Anything can happen. The motorcyclist glued to my bumper just about bought it. I guess, for a moment, I also forgot the part about watching out for the crazies.

My parents loved me, and continue to love me, actively. There is nothing ethereal about it.

So even with two flat tires, I feel like an awfully lucky girl.

Christine and Annie take on tires.


12 Responses to “Theme Fridays: Tires”

  1. […] And Clancy Jane’s tires go round and round […]

  2. […] clancyjane checks the tire pressure- […]

  3. ida allis Says:

    🙂

  4. Julia Says:

    I guess so!

    If you’d told me to write about “tires”, I think I might have interpreted it as the active tense of being tired!

  5. Hey Clancy Jane,
    Fabulous. I remember Chevy Novas – wow, talk about a flash from the past. I really loved this it made me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. It’s remarkable, isn’t it, how people continue to love us even after they have gone. Great job my dear – so happy to have you in the Theme Friday universe.

    Love
    Annie

  6. So there’s mine- changing a tire, then Annie’s gentleman who tires of loneliness until there is a feeling, a reminder of presence even though it isn’t physical, then there are your spare tires and reminders and presence.

    A neat little circle we made. I love how this happens.

    I think this is what it means when we say that people live on forever. They stay with us and we share them with others and they share and so on.

    And you did a fine, fine job. I am thrilled for us and for Fridays!

  7. Anonymous Says:

    You always reinvent a wheel. Lucky us!

Leave a Reply

